Book 2: Heart on a Chain

Standard

Title: Heart on a Chain

Started Reading: May 15th, 2011

Finished Reading: (I plan on finishing it tonight) May 21st, 2011

Author: Cindy C. Bennett

                        – Currently, she lives near the Rocky Mountains in Salt lake city with her 4 children (2 sons, 2 daughters) and 3 dogs. In the past, she’d done volunteer work with teenage girls ages 12 to 18 and became so fascinated by them that she began to write YA novels. Geek Girl, her first published novel, started as a short story that eventually was turned into a book. Heart on a Chain is her latest YA novel, written after Geek Girl, and was published January 22, 2010.

Synopsis: Kate Mosley and Henry Jamison are in love…or so they think since they’re only in 6th grade; the problem is they’re both too shy to do anything about it. Sure, they shared a kiss secretly in Henry’s closet, but the embarrassment of that keeps them from doing anything more about their feelings. However, a few weeks prior to that, Henry began to notice something different with Kate…she wasn’t smiling as much and spent her time hiding in corners rather than mingling with her classmates. When he moves away that summer, he’s worried about her but figures it’s just a phase. In reality, every day Kate goes home to an abusive, drug addicted mother and an alcoholic father. Her father beats her mother which causes her to abuse Kate excessively to the point where she’s forced to go to school with a black eye accompanied with yellow/purple bruises. Because of her secondhand clothes and poor appearance, her peers pick on her and it’s so severe that she has no friends at all. Then senior year, Henry moves back when Kate no longer has the ability to trust anyone, not even him. Even though he still has a kind heart and a sense of what’s right to do, she’s still skeptical and uneasy. He tries to befriend her but she avoids him, thinking he’s just another one of her peers trying to embarrass or hurt her. But what happens when he finally breaks down her wall and begins to learn more about her dark past and present?

“Rating”: 10/10

 Amazing novel. In fact, it moved me to tears.  I think this is something that everyone needs to read because it shows you no matter how dark your life may get, there will always be someone there to support you and help you escape the pain. It also tells you that you never know what somebody’s experiancing at home so you should always, always, always be nice to everyone you meet.

Cindy C. Bennett does a phenomenal job getting you emotionally tied to Kate and I think the reason why I was so attached to her was because the author used first person. You witnessed everything that happened to Kate through her eyes and in fact, I felt like I was her. The abuse scenes were insane. I had tears in my eyes for several chapters and I couldn’t believe something so horrific could happen to a 17-year-old girl by her own mother. I even cried a little when she met Henry’s family and finally felt like that was the family she should belong to.

Speaking of his family, I just really need to say this: I love Henry…absolutely love him. He’s such a great, kind character with a huge heart and while I was reading this book, I truly felt like he was a real person and not just a book character. He is exactly what I want my future boyfriend/husband to be like: kind, loving, and a gentleman. I adore how much attention he pays to Kate and how he cares about her so much that he even manages to change the school’s opinion about her. What an incredible guy (you’ll completely agree with me once you read the book).

This book is so fantastic and I can’t tell you how many times I’ve said this already. It was only $3 on my Kindle (way too cheap for such incredible writing!) and I would recommend this to anybody and everybody. Really, you need to read this novel, especially if you’re into romance. You won’t regret it.

 “You can’t hurt me anymore.” – Kate Mosley

S.M.

2 responses »

  1. I loved this novel. It’s one of my favorites. I know some people have said Henry is too good to be real but I don’t buy it. What is so hard about just being decent to other people? It’s not like he’s Superman.
    Another thing I like in “Heart On a Chain” is the character development. As you near the end of the book, compare the Kate at the beginning to Kate at the end. She’s become stronger, resilient, even stubborn. She’s not wiling to be a victim (“You can’t hurt me anymore”). She starts to show anger at how she’s been treated.
    Even one of her tormenters (Jessica) grows. I love part of the reason is her mother’s hurt & disappointment that her daughter treats someone so terribly. I think every parent hopes their kids are more the Henry’s than the Jessica’s. It must be tough for them when it’s not that way.

    Have you read “Geek Girl”, the other book by the same author? It’s another great story with inspiring character growth.

    I’ve not read anything by Sarah Dessen yet, but her books look good. Do you have one you’d recommend starting with?

    jh

  2. Exactly, I completely agree with you. I feel like Henry is just a sweet gentleman and if people strived to be that way, there’d be tons of people like him. It’s just the matter of being open and willing to changing bad habits.
    Same here! I really liked how it wasn’t sudden like how some authors do it. It’s not like she’s going to wake up one day and have this huge epiphany and somehow gain that massive amount of courage.
    I haven’t read “Geek Girl” yet, but I definitely plan on doing so and writing a review 🙂
    Oh my goodness, I absolutely LOVE Sarah Dessen…in fact, she’s the one who inspired me to become an author. I must say my favorite book of hers is “Lock and Key”. I also really liked “Just Listen” and “Along for the Ride” (then again, I’ve read all her books and loved every single one of them lol.) I hope you decide to pick one up because her writing is fantastic!
    S.M.

Leave a Reply

