Whoa, What Happened to Society’s Creativity?!

Standard

You know, I’ m very disappointed in this era’s serious lack of creativity when it comes to the movie industry.

Yesterday, I finished reading the book It’s Kind of a Funny Story (which, by the way, was phenomenal!)…the sad part is that I saw the movie before reading the book. Let’s just say I was so surprised when I found out from a friend of mine that there’s actually a book and the movie was based off of it. And guess what? THE MOVIE WAS AWFUL. Well, at first I liked it because it had a good plot and a really cute actor for the main character…but then I read the book and realized out of the 50-something chapters, the movie literally focused on 3. And the love story wasn’t even the major part of it!! The book was completely focused on Craig and how he has this battle with depression…not about him looking for love!!

How frustrating.

Then, I started browsing through the Amazon store on my Kindle and thought it’d be a good idea to see my book recommendations. I checked the list and was pretty bored by the selections until I came across the book version of I Am Number Four. WHAT THE HECK!?!??!?!! In all honesty, I thought that was a totally made up idea!! But of course, it’s based off of something. *sigh* Guess I’ll be reading it now before seeing that movie.

The worst part is that it doesn’t stop there. Last summer, I read Beastly by Alex Flinn (which, by the way, is another fantastic book) and 2 weeks later, found out it was currently in the process of becoming a major motion picture. Man, they better not mess that one up because that was the greatest modern Beauty and the Beast I’ve ever read.

I found out my favorite author, Sarah Dessen, is going on a book tour this year and had gone to her website to check out the dates and locations when I came across her blog. I looked through a buncha her posts and my eyes bugged out as soon as I saw that her book Along for the Ride was turned into a movie called Flipped. You can’t see it right now, but I’m shaking my head in disappointment.

What happened to original ideas like the concept of Inception? Now that movie had such an amazing script and plot, not to mention some pretty sweet special effects (seriously, Christopher Nolan is my hero). And you know what, I think Pirates of the Caribbean is a pretty crafty saga…it’s neat how one guy can manage to pull off almost 4 great movies with interesting plots. And let’s not forget about Finding Nemo 🙂  (come on, how can that one not warm your heart?) The story of the little fish who gets separated from his father and put in a fish tank is so touching that I always get this warm fuzzy feeling by the time Somewhere Beyond the Sea starts playing at the end of the film.

So moviemakers of America: I think we’d all appreciate it if you’d please get your own ideas and stop being lazy.

S.M.

Leave a Reply

